Skip to content

Current Legislation in New Hampshire

Click on a bill number below to get information on the bill

The New Hampshire General Court: http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/

HB 186 - Establishing a state minimum wage and providing for adjustments to the minimum wage

This measure establishes a state minimum wage.

This measure requires employees 17 years of age or older to be paid at the following minimum wage rate:

    1. $9.50 per hour effective January 1, 2020.
    2. $10.75 per hour effective January 1, 2021.
    3. $12.00 per hour effective January 1, 2022, and thereafter.

Tipped employees of a restaurant, hotel, motel, inn or cabin, or ballroom who customarily and regularly receive more than $30 a month in tips directly from the customers will receive a base rate from the employer of not less than 50 percent of the applicable minimum wage rate.

HB 272 - Relative to Temporary Workers

This measure establishes notification and disclosure provisions for the hiring of temporary workers.
A temporary service company shall provide the following written notifications to each temporary worker the company employs or procures on behalf of a client or client company for the purpose of staffing a temporary work assignment:
    1. The legal name, business address, and local phone number of the employer of record;
    2. The name and contact information of the person to whom the temporary worker is required to report injuries, illnesses, absences, safety violations, workplace discrimination, sexual harassment, or other concerns related to working conditions at a temporary work assignment;
    3. The specific terms and conditions of the temporary worker's employment in a new temporary work assignment;
    4. The full name and address of the client company or client to which the temporary worker is assigned, the exact address of the work site, and the name and phone number of the work site supervisor or manager to whom the temporary employee shall report;
    5. The name of the manager or employee at the client company's work site who is designated to provide a job safety orientation and any training required to safely perform the work assignment;
    6. A detailed description of the work to be performed by the temporary worker, including any requirements for special training, attire, accessories, tools, or safety equipment;
    7. The expected duration of the assignment;
    8. A complete and accurate description of the work site hazards to which the temporary worker may become exposed;
    9. Whether a meal is provided, either by the temporary services company or its client, and the cost of the meal, if any.
This measure defines temporary worker as an employee who is hired, assigned, and paid by a temporary service company for the purpose of staffing a temporary work assignment at the work site of a client or client company.

HB 731 - Relative to a State Minimum Wage

UPDATE July 27, 2020 - This bill was vetoed by Governor Sununu

This measure establishes minimum wage schedules.

Unless otherwise provided by statute, no person, firm, or corporation shall employ any employee at an hourly rate lower than that set forth in the federal minimum wage law, as amended or the following, whichever is higher:

    • From January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2022, $10 per hour.
    • From January 1, 2023 and thereafter, $12 per hour.

Municipalities may establish minimum wages higher than this amount.

Tipped employees of a restaurant, hotel, motel, inn or cabin, or ballroom who customarily receive more than $30 a month in tips directly from the customers shall receive a base rate from the employer of not less than 50% of the applicable minimum hourly wage rate.

Beginning January 1, 2026, and each January 1 thereafter, the minimum hourly rate for employees and the base rate for tipped employees shall be adjusted according to the increase in the cost of living according to the Northeast consumer price index as determined by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, United States Department of Labor. The adjustment to the minimum hourly rate for employees and the base rate for tipped employees shall not decrease either rate.

Tipped employees who are licensed as secondary game operators who customarily and regularly receive more than $30 a month in tips directly from the customers, will receive a base rate from the employer of not less than $7.25 per hour. If an employee shows to the satisfaction of the commissioner that the actual amount of wages received at the end of each pay period did not equal $12 per hour for all hours worked, the employer shall pay the employee the difference to guarantee the $12 hourly rate.

HB 1461 - Relative to the penalty for carnival or amusement ride operators

NEAAPA will be working with industry partners IAAPA and OABA to fight this bill which would turn people without legal standing into plaintiffs and open the floodgates for litigation by creating a private right of action for violations by ride operators in New Hampshire.

SB 60 - Relative to Advance Notice to Hourly Employees of Work Schedules

This measure requires advanced notice of work schedules.

This measure provides that an employer shall provide hourly paid employees notice of the employee's work schedule at least 14 days in advance of any pay period.

The requirements of this section shall not apply when regular operations of the employer are suspended due to circumstances beyond the employer's control. If a work schedule changes due to unforeseen circumstances, the employer shall provide notice to the employee as soon as possible.

SB 65 - Relative to the start of the school year

NEAAPA is working with IAAPA and tourism partners throughout the state on this bill. A task force that was appointed by Governor Sununu reported out the benefits of this bill. An economic study was also commissioned to generate support.

SB 410 - Relative to the state minimum hourly rate

This measure increases the minimum wage to $12.00 an hour by 2023.
This measure increases the minimum wage in the state to the following:
  1. From January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2022, $10 per hour.
  2. From January 1, 2023 and thereafter, $12 per hour.

Tipped employees who customarily receive more than $30 a month in tips directly from a customer will receive a base rate from the employer of not less than $4.00 per hour. If an employee shows to the satisfaction of the commissioner that the actual amount of wages received at the end of each pay period did not equal $12 per hour for all hours worked, the employer must pay the employee the difference to guarantee the $12 hourly rate.

August 4, 2020