Skip to content

Current Legislation in New Hampshire

Click on a bill number below to get information on the bill

The New Hampshire General Court: http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/

HB 107 - Relative to the Minimum Hourly Rate.

Issue: Minimum Wage

This measure provides that no person, firm, or corporation shall employ any employee at an hourly rate lower than that set forth in the federal minimum wage law, or $22.50 per hour, whichever is higher.

Existing law provides that tipped employees make no less than 45 percent of the established minimum wage, which means the minimum tipped wage in the state would be $10.13 per hour.

HB 149 - Extending Certain Civil Immunity to Public and Private Entities During Major Public Health Emergencies.

Issue: COVID-19 Liability Protection

This measure provides for civil immunity for public and private entities during public health emergencies and defines terms.

A person would be immune from civil liability for actual or alleged injuries, disabilities, or deaths arising from exposure to or infection from a declared public health risk during a state of emergency if the person acts in good faith and in accordance with applicable executive orders, public health safety protocols, or other government guidance to make their goods, services, or property safe for the procurement, use, or presence of and by the public. This immunity does not apply in cases of willful negligence, wanton disregard, or malicious or intentional misconduct.

Person is defined as an individual and any public or private entity including, but not limited to, businesses and sole proprietorships, industries, schools, municipalities, healthcare providers, charitable and religious entities, state and local government agencies, and social and political organizations.

The measure would take effect upon its enactment.

HB 255 - Relative to Limited Liability For Institutions of Higher Education and Businesses.

Issue: COVID-19 Liability Protection

This measure provides COVID-19 liability protections for universities and businesses.

This measure would define an institution of higher education as any nonprofit institution of higher education, public or private. No university or university employee would be liable for COVID-19 exposure actions unless they were caused by gross negligence, willful misconduct, intentional criminal misconduct, or the intentional infliction of harm. These same provisions would apply to any business as well.

HB 517 - Relative to the state minimum hourly rate.

Issue: Minimum Wage

This measure increases the minimum hourly rate and adjusts both the minimum hourly rate and the base rate for tipped employees annually based on the most recent 12-month average of the consumer price index. The bill also requires a youth minimum wage for employees under 18 years of age.

This measure Increases the minimum hourly rate according to the following schedule:

    • $12.75 per hour effective September 1, 2021.
    • $13.50 per hour effective January 1, 2022.
    • $14.25 per hour effective January 1, 2023.
    • $15.00 per hour effective January 1, 2024.

The measure provides that, beginning January 1, 2025, and each January 1 thereafter, the minimum hourly rate for employees and the base rate for tipped employees shall be adjusted according to the increase in the cost of living according to the Northeast consumer price index for the most recent 12-month period as determined by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. The adjustment to the minimum hourly rate for employees and the base rate for tipped employees shall not result in a decrease to either rate.

The measure provides that the minimum hourly rate for a person under 18 years of age shall be $8 per hour for the first 6 months of employment, and thereafter shall increase to the minimum hourly rate applicable under this measure.

SB 63 - Relative to Business Liability Protection For Exposure to Coronavirus and COVID-19.

Issue: COVID-19 Liability Protection

This measure establishes liability protections relating to COVID-19.

A business organization is not liable for personal injury resulting from or relating to actual or alleged exposure to COVID-19 in the course of the business' activity or in the course of working for such business in any capacity, provided that the business was following applicable government standards and guidance relating to COVID-19 exposure. This liability protection does not apply in cases where there is clear and convincing evidence of gross negligence, willful misconduct, intentional criminal misconduct, or intentional infliction of harm.

No lawsuit alleging injuries relating to COVID-19 may be filed more than one year after the alleged exposure.

The measure would take effect upon its enactment.

SB 136 - Relative to Business Liability Protection For Exposure to Coronavirus and COVID-19.

Issue: Minimum Wage

This measure sets the minimum hourly rate paid to employees, and amends the minimum hourly rate for tipped employees.

This measure provides that the minimum wage from January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2023 will be $10.00 per hour. The minimum wage from January 1, 2024 and thereafter shall be $12.00 per hour.

The measure provides that tipped employees of a restaurant, hotel, motel, inn or cabin, or ballroom who customarily and regularly receive more than $30 a month in tips directly from the customers will receive a base rate from the employer of not less than 35% percent of the state minimum wage. If an employee shows to the satisfaction of the commissioner that the actual amount of wages received at the end of each pay period did not equal $12 per hour for all hours worked, the employer shall pay the employee the difference to guarantee the $12 hourly rate.

The measure provides that tipped employees who are licensed as secondary game operators pursuant to RSA 287-D and who customarily and regularly receive more than $30 a month in tips directly from the customers, will receive a base rate from the employer of not less than $7.25 per hour. If such an employee shows to the satisfaction of the commissioner that the actual amount of wages received at the end of each pay period did not equal $12 per hour for all hours worked, the employer shall pay the employee the difference to guarantee the $12 hourly rate.